Roger Garcetti doesn’t stand a chance in Gotham

14Mar08

Wow, I haven’t updated this thing in awhile.

I’ve been on spring break from college, and now that I have this blog, and I don’t have my computer with me (stupid desktops are such a pain to move), I realize I’m more out of my element than ever. Well, the internet back home really sucks, so I haven’t actually gotten the chance to be on long enough to do anything. Right now, I’m just hoping I can finish this post before I get kicked offline. I have a ton of stuff to post, including a book review (yay!), but right now I better make this post about one thing and one thing only: The Dark Knight.

A shitload has happened over the past week. I don’t even know where to start, so let’s just begin with the headlines: Two new Harvey Dent related viral sites have been discovered.

GothamElectionBoard.com is still under construction; according to the site, there will be “online voter registration later this year.” GothamCityClerk.com doesn’t have much to offer either at the moment, but there is a notice on the site about voting, as well (coming soon: political opponent Roger Garcetti’s campaign website):

The Gotham City Clerk announces approval for extensive absentee voter support in the upcoming municipal election. Once the system is in place, we will post details and procedures for both online and mail-in absentee balloting.

Hurray! Four more TDK photos are up thanks to The New York Times, along with a decent article on the movie that talks about director Christopher Nolan’s techniques (I like his style) and how the weight of the tenebrous shadow of Heath Ledger’s demise might affect the already dark nature of the film.

It’s just not feng shui … well, let’s smash it.

There’s still no hint as to what Two-Face will look like, but Chud.com has a scoop on how Nolan is portraying Harvey Dent and his doppelgänger, Two-Face, that sounds pret-ty damn cool. Speaking of doppelgängers, what do Carl Sandburg’s biographical description of Abraham Lincoln and Harvey Dent have in common? Pricelessness (not a word):

A queer dream or illusion had haunted Lincoln at times through the winter. On the evening of his election he had thrown himself on one of the haircloth sofas at home, just after the first telegrams of November 6 had told him he was elected President, and looking into a bureau mirror across the room he saw himself full length, but with two faces.

Heh, “two faces.” Of course, Wikipedia is the cesspool for all that is lies and deceptions, so who knows—but it’s still lamely amusing.

On another note, there’s been some confusion as to whether the new TDK trailer was delayed or whether it was, as rumored, shown with 10,000 B.C. I personally haven’t seen it in theaters, and I haven’t seen anything uploaded onto the internet, but there have been mixed reports, FYI.

Screw the drum roll, I Believe In Harvey Dent is finally up and running with a new viral project and new events—whooo! Download and print out Dent campaign pictures and even a petition to show your support to get Harvey Dent to run for District Attorney of Gotham. Upload pictures/vids of Dent-supportive actions before the 26th to get on the website (there’s a ridiculous amount, already). Batman-On-Film.com has some from one of the Houston rallies here. Also, check out the “On the Road” section of the I Believe In Harvey Dent website to see if the Dentmobile (move over, Batman) is coming to your area and when.

Oh, how ironic is this? My sister’s graduating this weekend, so we’re driving for four hours to Columbus, Ohio—exactly where the Dentmobile was on Thursday. Gah! And is the Dentmobile coming to Pittsburgh? Of course not. Philadelphia, though, but (sigh) on Saturday …

Maybe it’s just me, but I think this is a slam-head-on-desk-worthy moment, don’t you?

Harvey Dent is my hero. ❤

| |
No Responses Yet to “Roger Garcetti doesn’t stand a chance in Gotham”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

