Why Gary Oldman rocks

06Apr08

He plays characters like Jim Gordon, that’s why. Click the image below to see the rest of this post over at GEN.

Speaking of Gordon, I was looking at The Dark Knight cast list on IMDB.com and saw that Barbara Gordon (Jim’s wife) and also their son, James Gordon Jr., will be in TDK. The latter will be played by ten-year-old Nathan Gamble (below left):

I mean, look how cute … The kid seems nice, too.

Plus, he’s Harry Potter‘s Sirius Black (R.I.P.). How awesome is that?

And here’s something for my fellow gamers (specifically those with Playstation preferences/addictions):

| |
13 Responses to “Why Gary Oldman rocks”

  1. He was also Dracula, in the best movie ever made!

  2. Haha, true!

  3. 3 John

    Nathan Gamble was excellent as Tom Jane’s son in The Mist, which kicked my ass. Hard.

  4. 4 John

    Oh, and the actress playing Gordon’s wife is Melinda McGraw, who was Scully’s sister on The X-Files. Sweet.

  5. Hm, I’ve never seen The Mist. That’s Stephen King, right? Maybe I should look it up and watch it sometime. Lol, I just love taking advantage of other people’s illegal hosting activities. =D

    Ohh, sweetness! Don’t you just love when you find out stuff like that about actors? Like, I love Hugh Laurie, but when I found out he was in Flight of the Phoenix (which isn’t that great of a movie, but anywho)—which I saw before I started watching House, heh—I didn’t even realize he was in it!

    Plus, when you see an actor in one memorable film/tv show, and then you see him in something else, sometimes it’s just plain weird, because you’re so used to viewing that actor as a certain character. Lol, sorry, tangent.

    I really hope they do a lot more with Gordon this time around, and since his wife and kid are going to be in it, hopefully they will.

  6. 6 John

    Did you know that Hugh Laurie was originally cast as Perry White in Superman Returns, but had to bow out because House got unexpectedly renewed?

    (And I really, really liked Flight of the Phoenix. Giovanni Ribisi rocked.)

    The Mist is an exploration of the human condition under pressure, and man, it’s scary stuff. The monsters aren’t scary, but the way people react? Terrifying. Basically it just makes you think that if there were ever a huge disaster, we’d all be screwed because of the stupid things people would do. And the ending will stick with you for a long time. Blugh. The Stephen King short story has an open ending, but the movie kind of pulls a Twilight Zone sort of thing. It’s powerful stuff. Saw it once and will never watch it again, because I don’t need that kind of trauma in my life. πŸ™‚

  7. Yeah, haha, I did know that—which is hilarious. He’s such a great actor, so it would have been really awesome.

    Aww, sorry, lol! =D I’ll have to watch it again sometime to so I can tell you why, at least, I didn’t like it, because I know it bugs me when people dislike movies I think are brilliant. I’d want reasons, haha! I saw it so long ago, so I don’t really remember why I didn’t like it. Maybe it was just that Miranda Otto annoyed me, who knows. Heh.

    Sounds sweet; then again, it’s Stephen King, so why wouldn’t it be? Heh, don’t you just love traumatizingly powerful films? The Machinist was like that with Bale, who did a kick ass job, not to mention the commitment alone he put into the film for losing around sixty pounds was enough to make you squirm.

    I really liked the movie version of Secret Window. Depp did a really good job (as usual).

  8. 8 John

    No worries on Phoenix … I didn’t think it was brilliant enough that you need to go back and give me any reasons. πŸ™‚ It was about an airplane, so that was probably enough for me at the time. πŸ™‚

    I’m actually glad Hugh Laurie was saved from being involved in Superman Returns, which is possibly the worst movie I’ve ever seen, ever. How could they? Oh, well.

  9. Lol!

    Haha, I haven’t seen it. I don’t like Superman as much. He’s just not relateable and has it waay too easy. I mean, the only thing that threatens him is kryptonite. Does he even fight any actual super villains in the movies? It’s at least better in Smallville (wow, I watch too much tv), but still, Batman’s much better. =]

    Was that the one Bryan Singer directed, consequently leaving X-men 3 in the hands of the Evil Brett Ratner?

    Well, even if it did suck, Hugh Laurie simply being in it might have made it somewhat awesome. At least for his scenes, haha. I mean, Cilian Murphy’s scenes in Batman Begins, though he didn’t have that many, were friggin’ priceless and worthwhile even for non-Batman fans.

  10. I always remembered him as Dracula or the best bad guy in Leon, the proffesional. Nice photo he seems friendly.

  11. Wow, that’s two people who remember him in Dracula now. All right, I’m going to have to see this movie …

    Yeah, I thought it was a cute pic. =]

  12. Thanks you very much for your comment in my blog, I hope my English being so good as your Spanish! πŸ™‚

  13. Sure (and thanks)! Your English is very good. When you first commented I didn’t even realize English wasn’t your first language until I checked out your blog. πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

