Dog tags and long knights

15Jun08

Well, I haven’t had any Wolverine movie news in awhile, have I? There are some set photos here that were taken during filming on Blacksmiths Beach in Australia this week that show Logan’s war days. Very cool stuff. Here are a couple.

Anywho, the run-time for The Dark Knight has been confirmed at 152 minutes.

Holy shit, that’s like two and a half hours. That rivals the fucking Lord of the Rings (okay, not quite, but still)!

Now, this new revelation has both pros and cons to it. Firstly, the more Batman/Joker action I get to see, the happier I’ll be—and not to mention that’s more screen time for the always delightfully sarcastic and hilarious Alfred Pennyworth (Michael Caine), the soon-to-turn villain Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), and the eternally awesome Jim Gordon (Gary Oldman). Plus, you can’t forget Maggie Gyllenhaal (who plays Rachel Dawes this time around), Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox, or the cameo of Jonathan Crane aka the Scarecrow—portrayed by the brilliantly cool Cillian Murphy, the god of minor characters everywhere. And speaking of minor characters, the amazing William Fichtner (who plays a manager in a mob-owned bank) will be sure to steal the opening scene. He always does. He’s that good.

On the other hand, this is not good news for our bladders (so lay off on that over-priced Coke). And as much as I’m loathe to turn down Batman, CHUD.com brings up a very good point. Despite how great something is, when it’s turned into a movie it can be ruined or made golden by various factors—including run-time. Sometimes a movie can find its perfect niche when it comes to length, but other times it’s too short or rushed and then again, it could be too long to bear while still maintaining your sanity. As long as The Dark Knight isn’t ridiculously drawn-out when it comes to what’s happening on the screen in terms of action and emotion and story … as long as the film itself justifies the length … I’m a happy fan.

I have the same policy when it comes to violence and gore that can be applied to what I mean here. I’m fine with violence and gore as long as there’s a point to it. V for Vendetta is a perfect example of this. That movie was brilliant. But there are some movies where there’s gore for the sake of gore (or violence, sex, swearing, what have you), and it’s simply unappealing. I don’t care what anyone else says, Domino was crap. I love Keira Knightley. She’s gorgeous and talented. But I couldn’t even get through twenty minutes of that movie, it was so low.

What do you think about The Dark Knight‘s long run-time? (And please don’t give me shit about Domino, you can’t change my mind. 😛 )

And Happy Father’s Day to any dads out there!

| |
2 Responses to “Dog tags and long knights”

  1. Talk about long movies… I saw the Grindhouse double feature in theaters, a late showing of it, I think I was getting out of the movie at like 1:30 in the morning. But that was totally worth it, because to me both films were crazy entertaining. Which made it totally worth the pain in my ass (Theater seats = shit.)

    Also I hate going to see movies that fall around 90minutes. It’s like what? 11$ to see a movie? Let’s not talk about drinks and snacks. (Ick I sound old somedays, “Back in my day movies cost a quarter and a pack of cigs…”) So I say bring on the Knight, all 152 minutes of it.

  2. Theater seats hurt my ass. Indy wasn’t even that long and my ass hurt. 😀

    That’s very true, at least we’ll be getting our money’s worth. And it really depends where you are and what theater you go to. The one I usually go to has matinees for, like, six-something. But I heard of this one (that’s farther, and considering the price of gas … it probably doesn’t pay off, heh) that has matinees for, like, four dollars and something. Kick ass.


Leave a Reply

