It was a dark and Batman-y knight … (I swear, it was him!)

29Jun08

Just one more day, my friends. One more day until I put my new banner(s) on my blog in celebration of The Dark Knight.

Lately I’ve been feeling a little creative—so the two TDK banners you saw debut back in April? You could still see them (just in a spiffy, updated form). But bet on something different, bigger, and better. Trust me, your head is going to spin. I’ve got an ace up my sleeve. ;D

Anywho. Someone on DeviantART made three awesome superhero thank-you cards (found via Super Punch). That’s my favorite above: with Batman, Robin, and Nightwing.

Check out the Bat-Blog for four awesome video interviews with some of the stars of The Dark Knight: Christian Bale (Bruce Wayne/Batman), Aaron Eckhart (Harvey Dent/Two-Face), Gary Oldman (Jim Gordon), and Maggie Gyllenhaal (Rachel Dawes). They’re all decently spoiler-free except the last one, with Maggie. Just … be careful. I kind of found out about something I wish I hadn’t, and I’m trying hard to wipe it from my memory.

Where are some good ol’ Jedi Mind Tricks when you need ’em?

There’s a new interview with Aaron Eckhart on IGN.com and an article on /Film that talks about a possible villain for the third Nolan-Batman film … the Riddler?!

Riddle me this, Bat-fans …

What do you think? Would the Riddler be a cool villain for the TDK sequel, or do you have your fingers crossed for someone else? What would you like to see happen in the next movie?

Personally, I’d like to see Nolan tackle Gordon finding out who Batman really is, and I’d like to see a hint at Robin or Batgirl—not that they have to be a part of the movie necessarily, just a hint at Bats’s future partner(s).

And … maybe it’s just a fangirl wish of mine, but I’d LOVE to see Bane in the future. Yeah, maybe Bane’s not really Nolan’s style, but I don’t care. Damnit, I want to see the infamous man who broke the friggin’ bat! Bane just gives me the chills.

| |
7 Responses to “It was a dark and Batman-y knight … (I swear, it was him!)”

  1. 1 John

    I think the Riddler could be cool if done correctly. I always imagined somebody like Ed Norton, who could provide a more serious and dangerous kind of Riddler who wouldn’t wear a silly green jacket with question marks on it. Somebody with a crazy awesome intellect who would want to challenge Batman’s mind rather than his muscles. I can just see Bale’s Bruce and Caine’s Alfred sitting in front of a computer screen, struggling to sort out the Riddler’s latest clues. Done correctly, it could be very dramatic and cool. Prestige-level awesome, in fact.

    And thanks for the heads-up on that Maggie interview. I’ll be sure to avoid it until after I see the movie! I’ll work on my Jedi mind tricks, too.

    “This is not the interview you remember.”

    (waves two fingers in front of your eyes)

  2. Yeah, the Riddler could be cool—but we all want to see Batman kick some ass, admit it. 😛 But I can’t really see Norton doing it.

    I just want to see … someone else, I think. The Riddler has been done before. Granted so has Two-Face and the Joker (but he’s different) … I just want to see some other villain. I mean, Bats has a whole Gallery of Rogues, and the TDK sequel will be Nolan’s last Bat-film!

    I think your Jedi mind trick still needs work. ;D

  3. 3 John

    I’ll keep practicing. 🙂

    I’d love to see Liam Neeson come back as Ra’s Al Ghul, actually. THAT would guarantee a massive amount of Batman kicking ass. 🙂

  4. 4 Jake

    Bale could played Batman, Oldman could played as Commissioner Gordon and Caine could played Alfred Pennyworth.maybe Adam Sandler could played his role as the insane evil Riddler and Jean Claude Van Damme as the cool wicked Mr.Freeze in the sixth Batmovie.

  5. Ew, Adam Sandler? 😀 No thanks.

    And wouldn’t this be, like, the eighth Batman film (technically)? If you count the cheesy ’60s movie, I mean.

  6. 6 J. Crane

    The Riddler Would Be Cool To See, Nolan-ized, But I’d Much Prefer To See Roman Sionis a.k.a. The Black Mask Make A Debut. If You Read His Profile, He Would Fit In With Nolan’s Batman Universe. Although He Might Not Be That Popular With The Fanboys And Girls Out There, Or The General Public, Especially The Lil Bastard Kids Who Get Good Movies Like This Ruined, For There PG-!3 Asses. I’d Also Think Putting In Selina Kyle Might Be A Good Idea. Not Neccessarily Catwoman, Well Maybe, More The Catburgalar Version. But Bruce Wayne Does Need A New Romanitic Interest, I Think? Anyway, Those Two Might Work Well. Maybe Throw In A Scarecrow Cameo Or Dr. Crane In Arkham. And Ban…Shadow Of The Bat Is On…As For The Riddler…I Know They Did Use The Name Edward Naston In One Of Those Viral Campaign Gotham News Paper Things. And I Guess That Was Supposed To Be The Riddler’s Real Name Before He Changed It To Edward Nygma. So, You Never Know, Maybe With That And The Reference To Batman’s Suit Holding Up To Cat Fights…They Might Win Just For Popularities Sake. I Can’t Stand Popular Kids. Anyway Peace. Nice To See A Gal With Some Dark Knight Sequel Interest. P.S. I Think The Image We Last Seen Of Bane, Will Keep Him Out…”Bomb!”

  7. Interesting choices (especially Black Mask, haven’t heard that suggestion before)!

    I don’t think they’ll do the Riddler, although I do like him as a character. But I agree with you about Selina Kyle, and I would love to see Bane (creepy!)—although I doubt Nolan would put him in because of his realism requirement. Still, Nolan’s the man—he does wonders. Look what he did with the Scarecrow! 🙂


Leave a Reply

