S. Darko = baby mice

11Feb09

(Baby mice are otherwise known as … well, ask any DD fan.)

As I sit here at my computer, typing away, I can’t help but glance at my prized Donnie Darko poster on my wall and sigh. It’s one of my favorite movies, and when I found out that a sequel was being made—let alone one that had no connection to original director Richard Kelly—I was pretty annoyed. There are some things that you just leave alone, but many people (like the new director Chris Fisher) have yet to learn why, despite countless examples of sequels-that-should-never-have-been.

The upcoming sequel focuses on Donnie’s  sister, Sam, all grown up. Here’s the premise:

“Samantha Darko (Daveigh Chase) and her rebellious best friend Corey Richardson (Briana Evigan) leave on a cross-country road trip to Los Angeles in an attempt to ‘make it big’. Their dreams are cut short when their water pump blows outside of a tiny Utah town. Unable to leave until their car is fixed, Sam and Corey are stranded with the locals until their car’s fixed. Sam and Corey are less than thrilled at the delay, and when an unexplained meteorite crash-lands in town that night, it soon becomes clear that there is much more at play than just a chance breakdown. Plagued by bizarre hallucinatory dreams warning her of the universe’s imminent end, as well as grief over her own loss of family, Sam must face the demons she had fled back at home. Aided by the unlikely town locals, Sam learns the true meaning of family and friendship, and in doing so, saves only herself.”

I don’t want anything to do with this film. I have this overwhelming fear that my fond memories of Donnie Darko will be forever ruined if I see this movie. The good news is (well, bad news for the movie, but good news for us), S. Darko will be a direct-to-DVD (releasing April 28). I’m wondering if this has anything to do with extreme fan disapproval, or whether it’s just not going well on the director’s end. Either way, it’s more than fine with me. The less I have to endure with this movie in terms of advertising, the happier I’ll be.

Discuss: How do you feel about S. Darko?

3 Responses to “S. Darko = baby mice”

  1. LMAO
    It took me a while, but i finally got the baby mice in-joke. I guess it’s been too long since I watched Darko.

  2. I just recently was told about this one and am none too thrilled. Donnie Darko is in my list of top five favorite movies and although I will watch S. Darko to, at the very least give it a chance….I’m not going to expect too much. A lot like the original Crow movie, Donnie Darko is just fine as one story that doesn’t need to be bastardized into a series. But who knows, maybe this will be the greatest thing EVER!
    Anyway, good job on the reviews over GEN!

  3. Heeyyy!

    W00t for Darko fans! I think I’ll wait to hear what people are saying about it, and if it gets good comments, I’ll probably give it a shot, too. But I’m just bummed that they had to go there and mess around with a sequel—especially one that doesn’t at all involve Kelly. 😦

    Haha, I’ve been told great things about the Crow, but I STILL haven’t seen that movie. I need to get with it. 😛

    Thanks, man! Busy workin’ away as usual.


Leave a Reply

