That’s no moon, Trent.

18Feb09

According to /Film, there’s a website called ThatsNoMoon.com—inspired by the moment in Star Wars: A New Hope where Obi-Wan Kanobi says, “That’s no moon … that’s a space station. The website shows nothing more than a giant picture of a Deathstar. Now, that is just awesome.

In unrelated news, Nine Inch Nails—one of my favorite bands—is ending! Over, done with! For an undetermined amount of time, at least. Man, I might cry. 😦

After twenty years of music, Trent Reznor and NIN are planning one final round of tours across the globe. Details will come soon, but those of you who love NIN like me might want to save up and try to make one of the concerts. Who knows when they’ll perform next!

Here’s an excerpt from the official note on Trent’s blog:

In NIN world, 2009 marks the 20th anniversary of our first releases. I’ve been thinking for some time now it’s time to make NIN disappear for a while. Last year’s “Lights in the Sky” tour was something I’m quite proud of and seems like the culmination of what I could pull off in terms of an elaborate production. It was also quite difficult to pull off technically and physically night after night and left us all a bit dazed. After some thought, we decided to book a last run of shows across the globe this year. The approach to these shows is quite different from last year – much more raw, spontaneous and less scripted. Fun for us and a different way for you to see us and wave goodbye. I reached out to Jane’s to see if they’d want to join us across the US and we all felt it could be a great thing. Will it work? Will it resonate in the marketplace? Who knows. Are there big record label marketing dollars to convince you to attend? Nope.

Does it feel right to us and does it seem like it will be fun for us and you? Yes it does.

Look for tour dates soon and I hope to see you out there.

2 Responses to “That’s no moon, Trent.”

  1. I can’t even speak about nin ending. It is so depressing, and unbelievable! I mean granted, he’s done a whole lot these past couple of years and has been on tour non-stop, but still. I hope he just takes a small, couple of years break like he did before he went into With Teeth. Waiting for those 5 years before was hard enough! Nin is my favorite band of ALL time ever, in case you haven’t already guessed…my heart exploded with grief when I heard the news 😦 He has given us alot though…and I’m so going to one or more of his shows if it’s his last!!

  2. I know! I’m so glad you tweeted about this, otherwise I have no idea when I would have found out!

    Yeah, ❤ NIN, and they have given us a lot … but this still sucks!


Leave a Reply

