Furballs of Alaska, watch out!

24May09

I took some time out of my day to finish catching up with Marvel’s PATSY WALKER: HELLCAT limited series—one of the cutest comics I have ever read without wanting to douse myself in pink and set something on fire. Err, that came out wrong.

This was my first encounter with Hellcat, and Kathryn Immonen’s writing introduced me to the fashion-smart superhero with spunk. Each issue’s introduction was entirely creative and unique, and the responses on the letters pages were answered in the tone of Patsy herself.

The comic wouldn’t have been quite as much fun, however, without the good graces of David LaFuente Garcia. His art mixed in a light-hearted and incredibly colorful flair that fit the ridiculous and silly (but well-done) story perfectly.

I’ve had a strong aversion to rabbits ever since one of my favorite films, Donnie Darko (now rabbits are just harbingers of doom and freak me out—just watch DD and think of all the rabbit references you know, and you’ll get it), but Garcia made them furry little bunnies again. Some of the poses for the over-abundance of the critters in the last two issues were hilarious to spot. Garcia even threw in what I imagine is an Alice in Wonderland homage.

With prices on the rise and frustrating storylines mucking up the stands, PATSY WALKER: HELLCAT acts as a refreshing step back from the usual. If you haven’t checked this out, do yourself a favor and pick it up. Then kick off your shoes, relax, and enjoy the show.

2 Responses to “Furballs of Alaska, watch out!”

  1. 1 Matt

    so I’m looking at the panels you posted here and the first thought that comes to mind is that she is/looks topless and her skirt has less material then a pirate eye patch, odd to say the least.

    Don’t you know it’s purple bunnies that bring about visions of the end of the world, not you standard white Peter Cottontail.

  2. 2 WITA

    1) Lol she’s not naked. 😛

    2) My point exactly! I like bunnies again. These were cute, not scary.

    3) These lists are very Patsy Walker. I couldn’t resist.


Leave a Reply

